About William S. Hackett Middle School


Built in 1926 and named after Albany’s 67th mayor, William S. Hackett Junior High School was one of the first junior high schools in the United States that served grades 7 through 9. The school became a middle school in 1974 with grades 7 and 8, and grade 6 was added in 2000. Hackett was extensively renovated starting in 2005.

The building reopened in September 2008, after the school’s outside was restored. Ceramic tiles and windows in the school’s magnificent foyer all were restored to their original glory, and every floor and wing was overhauled and updated with state-of-the-art technology.

The City School District of Albany uses a feeder enrollment model for middle school students. Students from designated elementary schools are assigned to either William S. Hackett Middle School or Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School. Each school has about 650 students. Students in the elementary program at North Albany Academy continue on in that school's middle-level program, which serves about 150 students in grades 6-8. For the 2015-16 school year, students from the closed Brighter Choice charter middle schools in grades 6-8 will attend the district's new West Hill Middle School.

Students who graduate from the following elementary schools attend Hackett Middle School:

  • Arbor Hill Elementary School
  • Delaware Community School
  • Eagle Point Elementary School
  • New Scotland Elementary School
  • Thomas O'Brien Academy of Science and Technology (TOAST)